Northern Chamber Orchestra

Viv McLean, piano

Book Now

Grieg Holberg Suite
Mozart Piano Concerto in A major, K414
Massenet The Last Sleep of the Virgin
Mozart Symphony No 29 in A Major, K201

Written when the composer was 20 in 1774, two years after Lucio Silla, Mozart’s evergreen 29th Symphony sounds as fresh today as it must have done then, and no less inventive. The young composer had already mastered mature musical forms as easily as he mastered the Italian language. The sunlit Piano Concerto K414 written 10 years later shares the same key and imaginary world in which joie de vivre is balanced with a classical purity of melody and shape. Massenet’s heartfelt and exquisite prelude from ‘La Vierge’ written 100 years later offers a similar deceptive simplicity but exudes a quintessentially French romanticism. Grieg’s Holberg Suite of the same period brings vitality and virtuosity to a typically evocative and enlivening programme from the Festival’s resident Orchestra.

Co-produced with


20 July 2017


3.30pm  - 5.00pm




St John's Church

Share this