Past Winners

The 2016 winning poets are:


Open Category

First Place – Roger Elkin Songs without words

Second Place – Margaret Morey Sixties secret

Third Place – Philip Burton A winter interlude

Highly Commended – Josh Ekroy Entrepreneurs

Commended – Ruth Quinn The Hidden Dragon


Children’s Category

Iona Mandal The Final Walk

Beth Walker-Mackay Hidden in the Light

Harvey Goodall The Autistic Dragon

James Morgan The Magic Box

Martha Blue Fox


Young People’s Category

Megan Leung Concealed

Beatrice De Goede Ode to the Old Man under the Moon

Fiona Morrison Invisible Disabilities

Lisa Zou Prodigious

Ellen Waters The Dreamer


2015 Winners

Open Category:
First Prize: Aly Stoneman
Second Prize: David Wilson
Third Prize: Joe Caldwell
Highly Commended: Gillian Knibbs
Commended: Helen Storey

Youth Category:

First Prize: Nat Norland
Second Prize: Tia Owen
Third Prize: Lucy Thomas
Highly Commended:  Elysia Wright
Commended: Jordan Raisbeck

Children’s Category:

First Prize: Dolores Hope
Commended: Anastasia Torubarova
Second Prize: Frances Purdy
Third Prize: Fiona Morrison
Highly Commended: Niamh Macpherson

Buxton Poetry Competition Anthology 2015

2014 Winners:

Open Category Winners:

1st Prize: Wendy Klein – Aunt Ruby’s Twisters
2nd Prize: Noel Connor – Dawros Bay
3rd Prize: Heather Cook – After The Storm
Highly Commended: Andy Hickmott – Moonshot

Youth Category Winners:

1st Prize: Katherine Marrow – River

Children’s Category Winners:

1st Prize: Beth Walker Mackay – Through the dark the owl takes flight

Buxton Poetry Competition 2014 – Winning Poems

2013 Winners:

Open Category Winners:

First Prize: Matt Black – Where candle-nights flicker
Second Prize: Joseph Caldwell – Different Routes
Third Prize: Helen Lawrenson – Ann Malloch at Mains of Ruffel, 1883
Highly Commended: Lyn Browne – Self-heal
Commended: Susan Wallace – The eleventh hour

Children’s Category Results:

First Prize: Isaac Taylor- Nursery Crimes
Second Prize: Jordan Raisbeck – Henry III
Third Prize: Katie Wheatley – The man with a moon tan
Highly Commended: Jacob Mallam – The Final Battle
Commended: Jake Willetts – Dinosaurs

Young People’s Category Results:

First Prize: Hannah Rodger – Ancient Oak
Second Prize: Jessica Frost – Someone Like Me
Third Prize: Daniel Howell – History is Circular
Highly Commended: Imogen Childs – Yesterday’s Wales
Commended: Rosie Coope – On the Turn of The Wheel

2012 Winners:

Open Category:

First Prize: Gill Learner
Second Prize: Lesley Saunders
Third Prize: Rod Whitworth
Highly Commended: Pam Brunskill
Commended: Yvonne Green

Youth Category:

First Prize: Pedr Davies
Second Prize: Jessica Laslett
Third Prize: Hannah Rodger
Highly Commended: Katharina Dixon-Ward
Commended: Philip Jennings

Children’s Category:

First Prize: Jennika Bates
Second Prize: Aislinn Wilkie
Third Prize: Ben Breeze
Highly Commended: Alicia Stalker
Commended: Martha Conway

Read all the shortlisted poems from 2012 here.